Skip to content

Dedicated

May 28, 2005
tags:

Twenty years ago I realized that I was not building a life with the best family values. I saw some of the guys I worked with who had been married 2, 3, 4, and even 5 times — or were in their 50s and still single and lonely. I said to myself, “I don’t want to end up like that.” But I knew I’d have to make some lifestyle changes if I was going to avoid the pitfalls these guys had fallen into.

First, I realized that the women I was dating would not necessarily make good mothers to my children. Second, I realized that I wasn’t exactly great father material either. Soon after that I had a conversion experience and gave my heart to the Lord. I thought it would be a short time before I found a good woman and would get married. But what I didn’t count on was the character development that needed to happen in my life. To attract the type of woman who would be a good wife and mother, I had to become the kind of man that would be attractive to that kind of woman.

I didn’t think I’d be in my 40s before I met someone as cool as The Wife. I definitely don’t deserve a woman like her. But, the Lord had plans for us and just over 4 years ago we were married.

God has given us some amazing gifts in our lifetimes, but our Darling Daughter is absolutely the most amazing gift He has ever entrusted us with. This is a powerful and humbling responsibility, to raise her in a way that will glorify Him.

We know there are generational curses to overcome and we want to stop the cycles of addiction and dysfunction and not pass them on to our daughter. We’ve been reading Stormi Omartin’s book, The Power of the Praying Parent and that has really opened our eyes to some issues.

DD has brightened our lives in ways we never imagined. We gave a large thank offering when we moved into our house and it only seemed fitting to do the same when she was born. God is so good!

Today, as we dedicate Darling Daughter to the Lord, we are committed to raise her in a way that brings glory to God. We pray that you help us in this endeavor and that you hold us accountable.

We also solicit your prayers!

Comments are closed.

