Skip to content

This is My Job, Part 1

September 21, 2009

Yesterday when I got home from WordCampPDX (which was awesome!) the family was quite excited to see me.  Darling Daughter started screaming as soon as she saw the car, she and Smiling Son came running into my arms in the garage.  The Wife was quite affectionate in her welcome too. (Have I ever mentioned how much fun it is to be a Dad?  I love this job!!)

After spending some time together, seeing some of the things they’d done during the day (cleared some space of weeds and blackberries and planted strawberries, drawings, clutter-clearing, etc.), I went into my office to check the blog and social-network for which I just assumed responsibility.

I was busily checking tweets, comments, and editing posts – when in trucked Smiling Son. He climbed up on my lap and we talked a bit.  He hadn’t been gone for more than a couple of minutes when in danced Darling Daughter.  She was caught up in one of her fantastic stories. I was the Father King and she the Princess Daughter.  She too sought refuge on my lap for a bit. . . 

I saw through their thinly veiled masquerades though. They just wanted to be with me.  I was OK with that – it was a good thing.

This morning, as I was in the bathroom, Darling Daughter came in and wanted my attention.

Just a minute,” I said.

But out of the corner of my eye I caught some body language that made me take notice.  She wasn’t hurt, per se; it was more like she had interrupted me (which she had) and would just disappear.  Something inside of me said, “Daddy.  Pay attention.” And I did.

In her hands she held three bird feathers.  Insignificant to you and I, but very important to a creative, intelligent, and socially aware four year-old.  As I squatted down to look at the feathers, I tried to dig out the meaning, or significance, of these feathers to her.  Instead, she wanted to know why there was shaving cream all over my face.  She was fascinated by the process and asked me why I had to shave everyday?

But why is there shaving cream on the back of your neck?” She asked.

I explained about my hairy neck.  The questions continued and I remained at her level –physically, emotionally, and intellectually – for awhile…

It was a connection point. It was intimate.  It was real.

In the not-too-distant future, I’ll be watching her graduate from college, getting married, having kids, and moving away – not always in that order.  I am determined to take these moments and live fully within them.  The past is the past.  The future is yet to be discovered.  But right now, today, I have a Beautiful Wife, a Darling Daughter, and a Smiling Son who need their Dad to be present – and in the moment.

This is my job – and I love it!

(click here for Part 2!)

7 Comments
  1. Jennifer permalink
    September 21, 2009 1:11 pm

    So glad you love your job and it shows! 😀 I love mine, too! 🙂

  2. September 21, 2009 2:27 pm

    Yes. Exactly.

  3. Terre permalink
    September 21, 2009 9:58 pm

    And the critics said, “A+” “10/10” “100%”
    “The best of the best he’s written!”

    PS: And the best part is that you will never have to quit or leave that job!

    :^ )

  4. Neon permalink
    September 21, 2009 11:05 pm

    Данная статья очень информативна, большое спасибо Вам.

  5. September 22, 2009 4:27 am

    From Facebook:

    I posted a bit about how important it is for kids to be interdependent and self reliant, but what kids want is YOU! Check out the full post at http://www.danceswithklingons.wordpress.com

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter Trackbacks for This is My Job, Part 1 « Confessing my Dad Attitude [daddytude.com] on Topsy.com
  2. This is My Job, Part 2 « Confessing my Dad Attitude

Comments are closed.

